And What A Season It Was ……. n’t

So, the season definitely did not turn out we wanted or expected. In fact you could argue it has been anywhere between boring to pathetic to an embarrassment.

I will be honest, this is the least engaged I have felt in a Town season represented by the fact it is the least amount of games I have been too for a variety of reasons.

I read various pieces and opinions and speak to fans regular but did not feel qualified to review the season on my own so for this year I have enlisted the views of five other Town fans on a number of key issues around the club.

Do you agree with Ben, Gary, Jay, Kev, Ross and/or myself?

How do you view this season overall?

Ben – Mediocre. Played almost the whole season just outside the play offs, which I believe flattered us a bit. The performances at home have been very pretty vile. At Christmas we had the 2nd worst home record in league 2. The football at home was poor and lacked creativity, simply weren’t keeping the ball well enough.
Away form mirrored the home. Under Flitcroft We found a way of playing which worked. We’d frustrate teams and often win by the odd goal.

However, worst of all was the way Flitcroft left and season petard out. It was very very disappointing.

Gary – Well simply put very poor. Expectation was high and I was looking at a top 3 finish, the playoffs would have been a disappointment for me but we have not even achieved that and this will be the lowest I have seen this club finish I believe in my time supporting them.

Jay – A big let down and a wasted opportunity. We shouldn’t be at this level and the fact we have another year of league two football is very disheartening.

Should Phil Brown stay On?

Ben – Yes. He’s passionate, experienced, he can work with small budgets and has succeeded at this level. He’s also a household name that can attract good players. I will say his record since he’s been here is very poor, but it’s been with another mans team. Brown was unlucky to start with and performances have picked up. However after a few draws the players heads dropped and the fight has been knocked out of them. Brown deserves a transfer window to see what he can do.

Gary – I am torn on this question my head says yes because who else would we get? My heart says no as he has done nothing with the squad that at least Flitcroft could get points with! It’s a tough one. Do we go with the experience or go for young and untried as in Williams case and get burnt again. So I wouldn’t be disappointed with Brown, he certainly is saying all the right things but then again so did Flitcroft at the start.

Jay – I’m 50/50. He could be the man we need to get us up but a clean cut from this season with an exciting young manager and a bit of investment behind him could be what is needed to attract fans back.

Kev – I personally don’t think Brown should stay, he’s an ex Premier league Manager and by coming to us shows a real lack of ambition, knowing full well he cannot make a difference!

Me – NO! I did not want him in first place and has done nothing to change my mind. Much prefer a younger, hungry manager. Lamps if he is ready or Archibald at Partick.

Looking at those away from sn1 (Vigs/Smith etc) should they rejoin the squad next year?

Ben – Vigouroux keep, we’ve missed him. Looking forward to seeing him in goal again for town. The rest can be released.

Gary – I would very much like to see the two main culprits back at the club in the first team. I think Vigs and Smith would add quality and certainly in Vigs case if he can get his head focused he can easily be the best keeper in the league next year. Both would be like 2 new signings.

Jay – I saw Smith a few times at Twerton Park and it would be a HUGE mistake to leave him out the starting XI. While we are in league two, we should use the lower quality opposition as an opportunity to develop some of our talents like Smith.

I’d like to see Vigs back because he’s clearly talented, but he’s a similar character to Nile Ranger where one players antics could be distracting the dressing room, so he needs to keep that part of his personality in check.

Kev – Vigs should be gone. Complete lack of discipline, keeps breaching club rules.

Me – Deffo Smith. Said for 2 years he should be in first team and reports I heard from Bath fans are glowing . If Vigs head is right place then he will be a prize asset.

Looking at Twine/Romanski – should youth feature more?

Ben – Yes, they are not ready to be regulars however they’d make good squad players.

Gary – I am always keen for youth to get a chance. They are usually committed to the club and you always stand a chance of finding a gem who can make the club money in the future. Certainly prefer that than journey men looking for a last pay cheque.

Jay – Twine and Romanski have shown promise in their appearances this season. We have got a great youth system and it is a waste not to use it. Not forgetting Jordan Young either. It’s a shame Flitcroft apparently wasn’t interested in using them.

Kev – I would play the youngsters next season with 1 or 2 experienced players to coach them.

Ross – Would always be nice to see youth given a chance as it helps build stability. Twine has been impressive so far.

Me – Always a fan of promoting youth. Get the right mix of youth and experience and unearth some gems.

What areas do we need to improve?

Ben – Simple. Every position but in goal

Gary – Has to be in all areas for me, the defence being the priority area, but midfield has been poor this season too. That said I think we also need a goal scorer as well, a 20 plus striker that every successful team needs.

Jay – Where don’t we need to improve???

If we had Preston and Conroy, we’d be in a much better position at the back.

We need a creative midfielder that can get the ball and make things happen. Players like Ollie Banks looked like they wanted to be that player, but missing that bit of quality to make it happen.

Ross – Defence is defiantly the main thing we need to improve and I believe that’s what Brown will focus on first.

Me – Midfielders are the priority. A Douglas/Traore type battler and a Ritchie/Pritchard type creative .

Any dead wood we need to let go?

Ben – Lol be shorter to write who would I keep. So Vigs, RCC, Knoyle, Preston, Conroy, Romanski, Hussey, Taylor, Dunne, Anderson, McDermott, Banks, (possibly Elsnik but wont happen) Twine, Woolery. Thats it.

Gary – To be fair most of the team needs to go, although I think it will be hard to shift those players on after this seasons performances. It is easier to list who I would keep rather than let go Vigs, Taylor, Richards, Twine, Smith, Henry, Preston and Conroy. There are arguments to keep Anderson, Woolery and Knoyle but after that no one else would disappoint me if they left.

Jay – The ones that stand out as unimpressive are Dunne and Lancashire. If be nervous to throw too much abuse at them because it has become very apparent that working under Flitcroft was toxic. Who knows how good some of them could be with a good manager.

Where should we set expectations next year?

Ben – Champions. Every season we are in league 2 we should set a target to win it. Power says we are a big club for this level. We need to act like it and throw our weight around. Give Brown a Champions budget and get us up.

Gary – Expectations for next season has to be promotion in a league where 3 teams are promoted automatically then we need to be in that shake up. I have always wanted to win leagues and have a trophy but I would take 3rd place happily. The playoffs for me would be a failure and an unnecessary lottery given our recent track record at the new Wembley.

Jay– Expectations for a club like Swindon are always high. We should be getting automatic or at least challenging.

Kev – Survival would do me next year and hope that Power f***s off 🙂

Ross – Next year depends on what happens this summer. We should be top half but if Power doesn’t give Brown backing, the position I fear next season could be pretty bad to say the least!

Me – After this season we are owed a title challenge by Power.


Leave a comment