Why the cup matters to me, even the JPT

The Washbag

Ahead of meeting Oxford United on Tuesday, Steven Fyfe looks at some of his favourite, andd least favourite, Town moments in knock-out football

In my decade or so of supporting Swindon Town I have sampled the highs and lows of cup competitions. My mum was only just born when we beat Arsenal in 1969 and I was only 3 years old when Swindon beat Leicester. It is these emotions and memories however that live long in the memory and it is for this reason I hope Mark Cooper takes every single cup competition, Johnstone’s Paint Trophy included, very seriously. Cup competitions offer a chance to play some of the biggest clubs in the country, provide some massive cup shocks, financial rewards and ultimately a day out at Wembley.

Being based where I am has given me the opportunity to witness the birth of a new football club: AFC Hinckley…

View original post 2,009 more words

Leave a Reply

